Home Immigration Do I need a Visa to stay in Germany

Do I need a Visa to stay in Germany

Do I need a Visa to stay in Germany

Will I need a Visa to stay in Germany

The Federal Republic of Germany, one of world’s top locations for tourism and education, identified for its low unemployment rate and job scarcity in specific fields.

It has established strict guidelines and immigration laws, a few of which have been adopted in the Schengen policies, widespread for all Schengen member states, for these wishing to enter its territory.

While there are classes and nationals of countries which are privileged with getting into in Germany visa-free, there are also different categories and nationals.

Others which have to undergo all the process of meeting requirements and attending interviews, in order to receive a visa that grants them with the permission to enter the Western European country.

The very first thing that a person planning to go to Germany for a short stay ought to do, is ask themselves: Do I want a short-stay Germany visa?

In order to reply this question, you need to think about the aim of entry in Germany.

If you’re planning to go there for a short-stay, for tourism / visiting or business, then the chances that you don’t want a Germany short-stay visa are larger.

Also check out:

German Family Reunion Visa : Join a Relative in Germany

Germany Medical Treatment Visa : Easy Guide

Germany Guest Scientist/Visiting Scholar VISA

Who Doesn’t Want a Short-Stay Germany Visa?

Germany, as a member state of the Schengen Area, permits the nationals of 62 nations a part of the visa-waiver program is to enter its territory without the necessity to receive a visa first.

In keeping with Germany short-stay entry guidelines, the residents of 62 nations are permitted to travel to Germany visa-free and stay there for a interval of 90 days inside 6 months.

Throughout this era, visitors aren’t permitted to work, however they’ll interact in business.

The nations that fall below the visa-waiver program are as follows:

  1. Albania;
  2. Andorra;
  3. Antigua and Barbuda;
  4. Argentina;
  5. Australia;
  6. Bahamas;
  7. Barbados;
  8. Bosnia and Herzegovina;
  9. Brazil;
  10. Brunei;
  11. Canada;
  12. Chile;
  13. Colombia;
  14. Costa Rica;
  15. Dominica;
  16. El Salvador;
  17. Georgia;
  18. Grenada;
  19. Guatemala;
  20. Honduras;
  21. Hong Kong;
  22. Israel;
  23. Japan;
  24. Kiribati;
  25. Macao;
  26. Malaysia;
  27. Marshall Islands;
  28. Mauritius;
  29. Mexico;
  30. Micronesia;
  31. Moldova;
  32. Monaco;
  33. Montenegro;
  34. New Zealand;
  35. North Macedonia;
  36. Nicaragua;
  37. Palau;
  38. Panama;
  39. Paraguay;
  40. Peru;
  41. Saint Kitts and Nevis;
  42. Saint Lucia;
  43. Saint Vincent;
  44. Samoa;
  45. San Marino;
  46. Serbia;
  47. Seychelles;
  48. Singapore;
  49. Solomon Islands;
  50. South Korea;
  51. Taiwan;
  52. Timor Leste;
  53. Tonga;
  54. Trinidad and Tobago;
  55. Tuvalu
  56. United Arab Emirates;
  57. United States of America;
  58. Uruguay;
  59. Vanuatu;
  60. Vatican City;
  61. Venezuela;

The European Commission has adopted the Electronic Travel Information and Authorization System (ETIAS).

Which the nationals of the above-mentioned countries should receive in order to be permitted to enter the Schengen Zone beginning January 2021.

ETIAS would cost 7 euros, and might be valid for 3 to 10 years, or till the expiration of its holder’s passport.

The procedures to acquire one might be quite simple, and the application process is estimated to last round 10 to 20 minutes.

Whereas, if the nationals of any of those visa-exempt countries want to enter Germany for long stays and purposes like medical therapy, study, work, employment, they should receive a Germany long-stay visa.


German Freelance or “Freiberufler” Visa

Germany Working or Employment Visa

Visas for studying in Germany

Who Needs a Germany Visa?

Alternatively, there are the rest of the world countries, the residents of which should acquire a visa, before their trip to Germany.

The applying process for a Germany visa contains gathering the Germany visa required documents, attending an interview, paying the Germany Visa’s fee, and ready for a choice on their application.

If you’re planning to enter Germany for a short stay and also you belong to one of these following nations then you’ll have to receive a short-stay visa:

  • Afghanistan
  • Algeria
  • Angola
  • Armenia
  • Azerbaijan
  • Bahrain
  • Bangladesh
  • Belarus
  • Belize
  • Benin
  • Bhutan
  • Bolivia
  • Botswana
  • Burkina Faso
  • Burma/Myanmar
  • Burundi
  • Cambodia
  • Cameroon
  • Cape Verde
  • Central African Republic
  • Chad
  • China
  • Comoros
  • Congo
  • Cuba
  • Rep. Of Congo
  • Djibouti
  • Dominican Republic
  • Ecuador
  • Egypt
  • Equatorial Guinea
  • Eritrea
  • Ethiopia
  • Fiji
  • Gabon
  • Gambia
  • Ghana
  • Pakistan
  • Guinea
  • Guinea-Bissau
  • Guyana
  • Haiti
  • India
  • Indonesia
  • Iran
  • Iraq
  • Ivory Coast
  • Jamaica
  • Jordan
  • Kazakhstan
  • Kenya
  • Kiribati
  • Kosovo
  • Kuwait
  • Kyrgyzstan
  • Laos
  • Lebanon
  • Lesotho
  • Liberia
  • Libya
  • Madagascar
  • Malawi
  • Maldives
  • Mali
  • Marshall Islands
  • Mauritania
  • Micronesia
  • Mongolia
  • Morocco
  • Mozambique
  • Namibia
  • Nauru
  • Nepal
  • Niger
  • Nigeria
  • North Korea
  • Northern Marianas
  • Oman
  • Palau
  • Papua New Guinea
  • Philippines
  • Qatar
  • Rwanda
  • Samoa
  • Sao Tome and Principe
  • Saudi Arabia
  • Senegal
  • Sierra Leone
  • Solomon Islands
  • Somalia
  • South Africa
  • Sri Lanka
  • Sudan
  • Suriname
  • Swaziland
  • Syria
  • Tajikistan
  • Tanzania
  • Thailand
  • Timor-Leste
  • Togo
  • Tonga
  • Tunisia
  • Turkey
  • Turkmenistan
  • Tuvalu
  • Uganda
  • Uzbekistan
  • Vanuatu
  • Vietnam
  • Yemen
  • Zambia
  • Zimbabwe

Similar posts:

German Language Course Visa

Germany Trade Fair Exhibitions Visa

Germany Visa for the Recognition of Professional Qualifications

Short-Stay Visa Exempt Classes

Even if you’re from one of the nations listed above the nationals of which must obtain a short-stay visa to enter Germany, there are still possibilities that you might not need a visa, in case you additionally belong to one of the following classes:

  • You might be also a citizen of the EU/EEA/EFTA countries
  • You’re the partner or the child of an EU/EEA/EFTA nationwide with who you’re travelling together with
  • You’re the holder of a Diplomatic, Service or Special Passport that’s from Chad, Ghana, Philippines, Thailand and Turkey
  • You’re the holder of a Diplomatic Passport from Algeria, Georgia, India, Jamaica, Kenya, Malawi, Morocco, Namibia, Pakistan, South Africa and Tunisia.

Will I need a visa to go to Germany from UK?

Since the UK is not a part of the Schengen Area, and starting March 29, 2019, it is not going to be a part of the European Union either.

Residents of the third-world countries residing within the UK  for not less than three months that plan on visiting Germany are meant to get a German visa so as to be able to enter Germany.

As per UK nationals, they may most definitely fall under the ETIAS program, as soon as it goes fully operational in 2021.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here