5 Employment-Based Immigrant Visa Preference Categories For The American Green Card

5 Employment-Based Immigrant Visa

Each year, the United States issues 1,40,000 employment-based immigrant visas, or green cards as they are commonly known. This includes visas for the principal applicant or person immigrating to the United States for work, and for her spouse and dependent children.

Depending on the number of eligible applicants and country-specific limits, the main applicant and his family may be granted visas in different years. Immigrants can apply for this visa in one of five categories. Let’s take a look at the five categories and their priority.

Employment-based immigrant visa first priority: EB-1

The EB-1 visa is reserved for individuals who demonstrate extraordinary ability in science, education, the arts, business, or sports. They can be employed as managers, researchers, professors, etc. To demonstrate expertise, the person must be nationally/internationally recognized.

No proof of employment is required, and the applicant’s spouse and unmarried children under the age of 21 may apply for an E-14 or E-15 visa.

Read also:


Live And Work In The UK Using The UK-India Young Professionals Scheme


Employment-based immigrant visa second priority: EB-2

To be eligible for this visa, applicants must have an advanced degree in arts, science, or business, or demonstrate exceptional ability in one of these areas. If the applicant is a National Interest Waiver, no proof of employment is required. The applicant’s spouse and her unmarried children under the age of 21 may simultaneously apply for her E-21 or E-22 visa.

Employment Based Immigrant Visa 3rd Priority: EB-3

This visa category is intended for professionals and skilled workers. To qualify, professionals must have a U.S. high school diploma or foreign equivalent and be registered in the profession.

Skilled workers must be employed in jobs that require a minimum of two years of education and must meet the education and experience requirements of the opportunity. Activities performed should not be seasonal or temporary.

Proof of employment is required, and the applicant’s spouse and her unmarried children under the age of 21 can apply for an E-34, EW-4, E-35, or her EW-5 visa.

Employment Based Immigrant Visa 4th Priority: EB-4

The EB-4 visa is reserved for special immigrants who:

No proof of employment is required for this visa. The applicant’s spouse and her unmarried children under the age of 21 may only enter the United States on a case-by-case basis.

Employment Based Immigrant Visa 5th Priority: EB-5

Entrepreneurs and foreign investors who invest at least US$1.5 million or US$8 million in a qualifying sector of employment to develop a new commercial venture are eligible for an EB-5 visa. The proposed company must also meet other criteria such as: B. Create full-time employment for at least 10 U.S. citizens.

No proof of employment is required. Family members of the primary applicant are also eligible for this visa category.

Read also:

Study in Europe: Top Countries to Immigrate

Worldwide Immigration Visa Guide

USA Jobs For Immigrants – Work In USA


The employment-based visa categories, including the EB-1, EB-2, EB-3, EB-4, and EB-5, all have different requirements that must be met by the foreign workers who wish to immigrate.

For example, EB-1 and EB-2 visas are reserved for the holders of advanced degrees or professionals who have demonstrated exceptional ability in their field. EB-3 visas are for professionals and skilled workers, and the EB-4 and EB-5 visas are for specialized workers.

However, it is not possible for one person to qualify for all five categories. For instance, a national of a low-population country may not qualify for an EB-3 visa due to the high volume of applicants from other countries.


Leave a Comment